A Common Life Lived with Uncommon Joy

For the past two weeks I’ve been telling all of you how busy I have been.  Busy is not the normal speed in our house and this weekend, it all caught up to me.  My brain and my body just up and quit – I was completely exhausted.  I spent Saturday night on the couch watching movies, took two naps on Sunday and then had an early bedtime last night.  I finally feel like my body isn’t crying “Uncle!” but still feel the need to slow down so I cleared our schedule for the next few days so we can all rest and rejuvenate before our little trip out of town for the weekend.   I’m being purposeful about making this week as quiet and low-key as possible because the next few weeks are full of big family activities and I wanted to be rested and ready to enjoy them along with everyone else.  The older I get, the more I’ve learned how to listen to my body and then treat it accordingly.  Let’s say hello, shall we?

Hello Monday…

Hello wedding bells…

flowergirls

This month we will be going to two very special weddings.  The first will be this weekend in Georgia.  My ring bearer from my wedding is getting married, y’all! If that doesn’t make you feel old, nothing will! All of the kids are in the wedding – Amber and Georgia are two of the three flower girls, Gracie is the guest book attendant (or wedding receptionist, as she calls it) and Ross is an usher.   My hubby is actually off this weekend and we will get to sit through a wedding together, which is a rare treat.  I’m looking forward to getting away to a beautiful  little cabin by the water, spending time with family, seeing my boy all grown up and wearing suspenders, and celebrating the joining of two very special people.  Two weeks later, we get to do it all again for my cousin and his bride.  I love weddings!

Hello treadmill…

home gym

My eating has gradually gotten back on track, thanks to teaching Made to Crave.  With eating better comes a desire to move more and make healthy choices in other areas of my life.  So I’m rearranging the living room and setting up the treadmill again (where it is now, you can’t see the TV because of a reflection from the window).  I also have a goal to work toward.  I’m walking the 5k Color Run with my friend and her family in two weeks.  I really wanted to do the Color Run last year but they sold out before I could sign up and then I blew out my knee and couldn’t even walk it anyway.  It feels good to be moving again and working towards something.  It’s been really hard to get back on track since my knee surgery, especially with exercise.

Hello computer school…

Gracie has made a lot of progress in math this year, but I know she’d be doing so much better if I could spend more time teaching her one-on-one.  Enter Teaching Textbooks, the awesome computer math program Ross has been using and loving since the beginning of the school year.  This weekend I was able to get a used copy for Gracie’s level and she’s already completed three lessons today.  This is the first year my kids have used the computer on a regular basis for school.  I really like how it frees me up to teach other things and spend more time with the Littles on their work.  Do you use technology for school? What’s your favorite educational computer resource?

What are you saying hello to this week?

 

Leave a Reply

